Checking My Amateur Diagnosis Of Soft, Brown Spots On Peppers

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
Good Day All!
I am a total amateur in gardening. My complete experience has been only a few years of the "plant it & see what happens" method.
This year, since time allows, I decided that gardening is very fun and I'd like to learn more.

The puzzlement of the day is about some pepper plants where the fruit has brown areas. The brown is very soft and the green is firm to the touch. The brown spots arrived yesterday. (Photo attached)

I apologize, but I don't know what kind of peppers they are. Each year, I plant from seeds I took from garden vegetables the previous year. For these peppers, I forgot to label the seeds. They probably are either Cubanelle or Anaheim.

The peppers live in 2 foot by 2 foot by 1 foot wooden boxes which are on legs. The dirt is from my dirt pile, to which I add leaves & things during the year. I have added sand over the years to make it less clay like.

There is another pepper plant in the box, but it has no fruit yet.
In a matching box, I have cherry tomatoes and a pepper. The tomato has small fruits, but no brown. The pepper has not had fruit yet.

The weather has been either cold & raining (many days straight for weeks) or hot (in the 80-f to 90-F range.)
So the peppers get water, then heat. If I notice the leaves are wilted in the early morning, I'll water them.

But, watering or rain is temporary at best. If they get a lot of water, within a couple of hours, the dirt is dry as deep as my finger can poke in.
Some photos of the dirt are attached.
The first photo is what it looks like after the rain dries. Looks like a driveway!
The second is what it looks like after a fingernail scratch.
Hopefully my photos are good enough so you can see that the top layer is like concrete. About 1/10th of an inch below, the dirt is nice and crumbly.