Can Someone Please Tell Me Why These Bushes Are Drying Out On One Side Only & What to do About It

Reaction score
Country
United States
I have two of these doing the exact same thing. I live in Southern California. I tried researching it but couldn't find much in the way of answers. Oh, I'm a total gardening noob. Thanks. :)
IMG_20171007_084825250_HDR.jpg
IMG_20171007_084837628_HDR.jpg

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United States
Are these bushes Mexican Oregano (polimentha longifoliara)? If so, the bottom and side aren't getting enough sun. Try cutting back the bush by about 1/3, shaping it into a more pyramidal shape (top narrow and bottom wide to get sun and water) and watch it take off!
Mexican Oregano not only has lovely tubular blooms that hummingbirds and butterflies love, it has a culinary use. It can be substituted for Italian or Greek oregano, but with a lighter hand.

Reaction score
Country
United States
I'm not sure what they are but when I googled Mexican Oregano the images don't look like what I have here.

alp

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United Kingdom
You can rub or crush the leaves and see what they smell like!

Reaction score
Country
United States
I see them at other houses in my neighborhood and they don't get cut back or pruned. Why is one side dried out while the other is doing well? What can I do to fix this?

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
They look like Boxwood to me. Same thing as @alp suggested...not enough sun...or, do the stunted sides receive the prevailing winds? Temperature ranges for your area are?

alp

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United Kingdom
They look like Boxwood to me. Same thing as @alp suggested...not enough sun...or, do the stunted sides receive the prevailing winds? Temperature ranges for your area are?