Badly trimmed Heart Leaf Philodendron cutting

Reaction score
Country
United States

I am just getting started with houseplants. I didn't want to invest much money to see if I was able to stick to it well, so I thought I'd start with some cuttings.

A friend of mine had these Philodendron's available which met my main criteria of "nearly impossible to kill", however, she unknowingly cut them wrong.

Two of the three cuttings (all of which has grown roots in water) have basically one leaf and then the stem the leafs each grow off is trimmed above a few inches. (please see attached picture).

Are the two plants trimmed this way going to grow? If so, am I able to re-prune them so they will grow?

I can't find anything online to tell me this, just how-to's on how to do the cuttings to start with.

Thank you for any help you can give me.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello @JustSomeGuy and welcome to the forums. My job was propagating shrubs/perennials, but I've never tackled this particular plant. Generally speaking, I can tell you that if you have a node at the base of your cutting, and a leaf or two at the top there is a chance that your cutting will root. Better to give it a go than throw your material away.... I wish you luck. Please let us know if you have success.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Just leave them, and see what happens. I don't care for philodendron so I don't grow these, but I do know they are very easy to root. They will eventually either root or rot. If they rot, throw them away. If they root put them in a light mix of potting soil and keep moist (not soaked!). Most plants propogated from a leaf will send a new plantlet up from the bottom.