who knows potatoes

Reaction score
This is my first year growing potatoes I planted both sweet potatoes and new. The sweet potatoes have a nice purple vine growing the question is how do I know when to harvest them

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
This is my first year growing potatoes I planted both sweet potatoes and new. The sweet potatoes have a nice purple vine growing the question is how do I know when to harvest them
You can dig around and harvest them anytime. When they freeze back you will probably find an extra jumbo giant size one in there someplace

Reaction score
You can dig around and harvest them anytime. When they freeze back you will probably find an extra jumbo giant size one in there someplace
Any idea of how tall the sprouts should be mine stand around 6 inches tall

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Any idea of how tall the sprouts should be mine stand around 6 inches tall
They will resemble a squash plant but much longer and with smallr leaves. I have had vines 15' long and about 1' - 2' tall and 4' wide. If they start to take over you can cut them back and they will get bushier.

Reaction score
Ok my next question is.. Should I continue adding soil to them as they get taller
They will resemble a squash plant but much longer and with smallr leaves. I have had vines 15' long and about 1' - 2' tall and 4' wide. If they start to take over you can cut them back and they will get bushier.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Ok my next question is.. Should I continue adding soil to them as they get taller
I never did because the plants are so big. Their little feeder roots go all over the place. They don't need much of anything except a good soaking about once a week. Mulching helps a lot in keeping down weeds and keeping the soil moist

Reaction score