What can I offer a local urban farmer?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I want to get into urban farming as a side business. I'm still relatively new to gardening, i.e. only a few year's experience.

Anyhow, there is a local urban farmer that appears to run a business similar to what I picture for myself. They do some retail and some selling to local restaurants.

I would like to build upon their mentorship. Of course, that begs the question - what can I do for them? I'm a full-time accountant with a degree in finance and an MBA (for all that's worth, ha!). I have related certifications, including Quickbooks. You get the point...I'm good with money and numbers. If you can dream something up for a spreadsheet, I can probably create it. I have some experience with marketing and building websites too. I can learn just about any technical skill.

What's my best approach for working with them? What's the pain point I should focus on helping with? For those who are mentors/mentees in a similar situation, how do you build your relationship?

Thanks folks,

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
USDA 10a - Sunset 22
Country
United States
Pain Point... Six Sigma BB on the resume too? :)

Are your aspirations for the hands on side or the business side.... both? What are you looking to get out of the deal? Do you have something to offer in addition to, instead of business and finance like time or free time?

You might be starting a possibly competitive business?

Do you grow anything much now? What is your overall horticulture knowledge?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Pain Point... Six Sigma BB on the resume too? :)

Are your aspirations for the hands on side or the business side.... both? What are you looking to get out of the deal? Do you have something to offer in addition to, instead of business and finance like time or free time?

You might be starting a possibly competitive business?