Seedlings dying, need help

Reaction score
Country
Germany
Hi there,

I am somewhat new to gardening, trying it on a larger scale this year than ever before and I am repeatedly running into problems. I am struggling with leggy seedling since always, I have them in my living room, where its quite warm of course and this time of year there is not much light. I added a grow light and a fan and it seems like the situation is starting to improve. At least here I believe to know the cause of my troubles.
My current problem is that I cannot seem to get the watering right. I used to just use compost for the seedlings and they all died after a while, because the compost was just always wet. After some reddit advice, I got some seed compost that is based on coconut. Way better.
Now, if I follow the instructions of ANY youtuber(Charles Dowding, Huw Richards, the Epic Gardening guy) on how to water the seed compost when putting the seeds in, my plants die soon after germinating because the soil is just always wet.
The sweet spot between the seedling rotting because the compost is too wet and them not having enough water seems to be so incredibly narrow that it is very hard to control. Nothing like the instructions in the videos. I just really dont get what is going wrong here.
I just want to make clear, that my compost is NEVER close to being saturated with water. Otherwise the seedlings die.
01.jpg

01: This shows my lettuce. When I watered it some time ago, the new leaves started dying suddenly. Then, after the compost came closer to being dry, a knew leaf grew which seems to be very happy with this aloms bone dry compost.
02.jpg