Raised Bed

Reaction score
Country
United States
Thinking of putting this in my Greenhouse for Raised Bed.

I could cut Barrels in half but still be few inches short but gain about 3 inches in depth.

Or I could just buy the Rubber Bunk for it for around $15.

I'm thinking of cutting down some Barrels, painting them Black setting them under my main shelf, filling with water, put Fish in, let excess water drain into them and use an RV pump to water everything out of the Barrels.

big rockpile
20230521_144145.jpg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6B
Country
United States
Have to say I'm a bit lost as to what you're thinking about doing with this steel rack.

There are a ton of ways to do aquaponics, while I have no experience yet, I know it is a bit more complicated than put some fish in here and the water goes to plants there.

Reaction score
Country
United States
No No No I'm stating two different things.

Let's just go with the steal rack. I can cut the Blue Barrels in half, put on the rack but with 3 half going to be 3 inches short but will still be about 3 inches deeper on soil than if I buy the rubber bunk for it for around $15.

Thinking of using this as a Raised Bed in my Greenhouse.

This is what I originally was going to do with the Barrels.

big rockpile

20220404_091340_IMG_0689.JPG

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6B
Country
United States
The half round barrel idea seems like a lot of work and expense for no gain. The only reason to do a raised container ledge like that is if you can't use the ground soil or need to do a layered system. On the other hand the barrels greatly reduce the capacity of the system and will require more watering and maintenance than without the barrel contraption.

Is the ground usable? If you're dead set on using the metal frame put some type of material on the side as a panel and use it as a raised bed.

Reaction score
Country
United States
I'm going to use it in my Greenhouse.