Is this butternut squash successfully pollinated?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
10b
Country
United States
None of the male flowers were open in time when the females opened, so I physically opened 3 of them and use them to pollinate the female. It's been two days since I have pollinated her. Do these before and after pictures prove successful pollination?

Before:

After (today)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
I really don't know, and I read your other squash blossom thread too.

I can tell you however that I've been growing various types of squash for almost 40 years. Often I've just gotten a single plant from a nursery and stuck it in the ground. Not once have I given a single thought to whether the plants were male or female or somewhere else on the sexuality spectrum. ;) And not once have I had a poor squash harvest. Those darn things do their thing with wild abandon and they're hard to give away besides because everyone else's squashes do the same thing.

I believe you may be overthinking this really. Mother Nature (along with whoever created modern squash cultivars) pretty much designed the process to proceed to fruition without us faffing about with pollinating our own flowers.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
10b
Country
United States
If I haven't hand pollinated this, there would be no chances of it surviving. At least by hand pollinating I gave it a chance to actually grow. The reason why your butternut squashes grew was because you had some insect or bird that did it for you. I have them as well, but the male flowers were closed shut. Nothing could take pollen from one, from the other.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
You are in very buggy Florida with year around temperate climate, IIRC? And I'm in Michigan by way of Colorado...two not-buggy cold weather states.