Indoor plants that are both animal- and fool-proof

Reaction score
Hi!

As I mentioned in another thread, I am pretty new to gardening, but I really want to get involved in it. One thing that I would love to do is have indoor plants in my living room. I don't have a green thumb at all but I think that indoor plants would be a great way to start learning. Does anyone have any suggestions for easy-care plants that are also safe to have around animals? I have two dogs and a cat and don't want them to get hurt in the event that they choose to start munching on my new plants. :/

Reaction score
I'd be interested in hearing what others have to say as well. I do have a cat who munches my plants, but he leaves my bamboo alone. I think you're very smart to think about the animals. Another consideration when having indoor plants, some animals dig in the soil. My neighbor's dog dug up all her potted plants! Just a thought :)

Reaction score
Thanks. I hope my critters don't try to dig up the plants. They're generally pretty well-behaved, but you can't stop animals from being animals. I love ferns, but my mom told me they are poisonous for pets.

Reaction score
Ironically, after I posted I went outside to look at one of my squash plants. ALL the leaves were gone. I checked for bugs, nothing. I could not for the life of me figure out what happened. Later in the day, I let my Golden Retriever out back...and watched her make a beeline for the squash. She ate ALL the leaves off of it! Luckily, they're not poisonous. Darn furry beasts, LOL.

Reaction score
This is a great topic that some people do not think about. I am still learning a lot about plants but I do have a great deal of knowledge regarding animals. Poinsettias, azaleas, chrysanthemums and lilies were some plants off the top of my head that are poisonous to pets. I attached a link for more plants to help guide you to protecting your furry friends.