Hydrangea Over Pruned?

Reaction score
Country
United States
I am looking for a little advice regarding a hydrangea. I am very new to gardening and not sure what to do at this point. I purchased a house with a well-established hydrangea as you can see in the picture from this past fall. It was starting to overtake one of the windows of the house and I felt as though it was getting too big so I pruned it back in mid-April. I have a feeling I may have cut too much? There is a photo included with how it currently appears. What is the best thing to do at this point? Any input would be great.

Thank you!

Attachments

• Screenshot_20230706_193539_Gallery.jpg
    Screenshot_20230706_193539_Gallery.jpg
    237 KB · Views: 20
  • 20230706_163146.jpg
    20230706_163146.jpg
    320.5 KB · Views: 16
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
It is still alive and leafing back out. I'd just leave it alone. The leaves have a nice green color so there is enough nitrogen and the pH must be right for the bush.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
4 to 5 best for success.
Country
United States
When you prune Hydrangea just dead head the flowers and leave the wood alone.
That is only, if that "type" does new growth on last years wood. Not every one does. My Annabells, and I have 3 of them. In about December I will cut the whole plant down to about mid-calf or knee height. The last years dead growth only serves as a cage to help the new growth, whitch comes out of the grown to not fall over too much.

And my Oak Leaf Hydranges, have 2, they are both about 10 feet tall, have not pruned them yet, however, they would servive a couple feet off , they bloom from old wood.