Help with new Lawn

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello,

Earlier this summer I dug up a section of our lawn that had a lot of "swamp grass" that was brought in by a landscaper when he removed some damaged hedges. I used a load of topsoil from a source I thought was reputable, and they might be (I don't know much about this topic) but now I have everything you see in the pictures. Weeds, strange crass, etc. What should I do now or will it self-correct when I mow it for a while? I don't want to use any sort of weed killer, we're losing enough insects on the planet as it is.

293243283_717710189330427_158789443362358734_n.jpg

294164437_5024426987669548_4544338555130519811_n.jpg

Reaction score
Country
Afghanistan
I'm no expert on this either but what you have there now is certainly not going to self correct. If anything, it'll only get worse!

You say you 'dug up a section of lawn', there well may have been roots of the unwanted grasses & weeds remaining in the ground as you put new top soil down and now they're popping up again? Also, you didn't say what you did after you put down the new top soil? Did you seed the area or put down sod? I assume it wasn't sod because it looks like there's very little grass there now - mostly weeds and other unwanted types of grass (crab grass or other?).