Hawthorn crateagus berries

Reaction score
Country
Ireland
Hello

I’m a complete novice in germinating our natives from berry /seed / nut.

I’ve two quick questions which might help me in my quest to improve

1. I collected hawthorn berries at halloween so lets say 10 weeks ago approx. I’ve stored them outdoors in a net like sack and they would have got some rain and moisture but they havent really spoiled that much at all so far. My question: Are they still viable as I have read online that really i should extraxt the seed quickly and sow them using whatever method. I would believe they have drier out as the berries are still very “fleshy”

2. I collected hazel nuts a few weeks earlier and they have been storex in a similar way al be it they havent had much moisture. Im confident they are still viable but stand to be corrected?

If so, is it possible to crack the shells and plant the “naked” nut or do they rot etc? I can control mice etc but dont want to waste the hard to collect nuts if this isnt agood idea.

I willdo the float test on nuts prior to selection either way

Appreciate any help and can share photos to confirm conition of either or ☺️

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hawthorn you do need to separate the seed from the outer berry, I think naturally this would be done by birds eating them, they are hard seeds and you can mash them up to get the outer off.
Hazel use the whole nut, and there is a long germination period. They vary considerably, some nuts are twice the size of others, if you are growing for the nuts it is worth being selective. I had a dormouse have a go at mine, they leave a neat little round hole.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Be aware James, that once prepared and sown, Hawthorn will take up to 2 years to germinate and are very slow growing. Cuttings are always worth a go in the spring time, but are very very difficult to strike.