Fancy a new hobby?

Colin

Retired.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

It's bitterly cold and white over with frost this morning so I'm being lazy for a change and to pass away a bit of time thought I'd add something a bit different to the forum in the hope it will be of interest?

When I retired in 2000 I could easily occupy myself with outside jobs around the bungalow and gardens but I really wanted something interesting to occupy me during our very long dreary winters. It's a long story but thought I'd have a go at electronics just for fun; I'm a mechanical engineer but knew electrical basics certainly enough not to electrocute myself or anyone else.

I decided to add new large numbers to our bungalow front but I wanted to illuminate these at night; being totally new to electronics I took Bron with me to Maplin's in Leeds not having a clue what to expect as we entered the store; would I be treated as the dummy I was; this was an whole new world to me. We browsed the store and I found an electronic kit I could assemble that once installed would automatically turn on the numbers light at dusk and turn the lights off at dawn so I bought the kit and we returned home; just taking this first step into the unknown opened up an whole new world to me.