Be forewarned. Total newb here

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello to all that have been doing this for awhile.

My question is based on a soil sample I sent to the MSU extension that recommends, in order,
option 1: manufactured 12-2-12 @ 30/1000
Option 2: manufactured 16-2-14 @ 22/1000
Option 3: organic 6-1-6 @ 60/1000

Organic meaning cow manure? Free
Manufactured ? Unknown
Or go with the straight bag of each
Nitrogen 3 to 4 lb/1000
Phosphorus 1 lb/1000
Potassium 5 lb/1000
Lime 48/1000

Ph is 6.2

Any other info you PROS need or would like to make a recommendation. Post it. Believe me I will provide it.

And no, this is NOT a victory garden. It's going to go on until they compost my wrinkled butt in the ground. Or sprinkle my ashes in the fire fit.

Thank you in advance

Reggie

Reaction score
Country
United States
Synthetic fertilizer 12-2-12 @ 30/1000, means use a bag of 12-2-12 at 30 lbs per 1000 feet
Synthetic fertilizer 16-2-14 @ 22/1000, means use a bag of 16-2-14 at 22 lbs per 1000 feet
Organic 6-1-6 @ 60/1000 mix yourself a bag of organic blood, Bone Meal, Cottonseed Meal, and or Manure or whatever it takes to equal 6-1-6 and spread it at 60 lbs per 1000 feet. You could use a composted poultry mix fertilizer mixed with a little bone meal in it to make a a perfect 6-1-6

If you mix your own synthetic nitrogen, be sure to use ammonium nitrate instead of nitrate nitrogen because of pH value.
In order to buffer your pH you will need to add Lime 48/1000 meaning 50 lbs for every 1000 feet. I would use dolomite lime for the extra magnesium. That should raise your pH to 6.5 to 6.8 for the best pH in the garden. I hope that helped.

Meadowlark

No N-P-K Required
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
old zone 8b/new zone 9a
Country
United States
And no, this is NOT a victory garden. It's going to go on until they compost my wrinkled butt in the ground. Or sprinkle my ashes in the fire fit.

Excellent sentiments...and they match mine exactly.