Are you a book gardener, or an adventuous gardener?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United Kingdom
Briefly. Do you rely upon the written word, or do you do it your way? I want this to be an open thread for everyone. Here goes. Not boastin. I am a professional. Do I follow to the letter, what books say. NO. For instance. Books and plant/seed labels usually quote from local results. Hey Taffy, My leeks are rubbish. How do you grow such exhibition plants.

So this is it friends. C'mon lets open this forum up. Let's have a laugh and joke, be flexible and enjoy our gardening.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Zone 5
Country
United States
Sometimes??? I buy what I like. Then I find places for it LOL. Which has been fun with redoing the yard with not so much clear direction lol. It is working out though:)
I am a big flower person, and need things to bloom. Annuals are great for that, but I need perennials. The whole "full sun to partial shade" is like WTF? For which zone?? I followed this on a few things and I just had to move them later. I listened to the plant and now they are doing great!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Keir Hardy
Country
United Kingdom
I'm not a gardener, I was a bit of a "garden designer" and now just a "garden manager," in charge of a work force...me!

Waitrose are better at veg than am I. So I don't bother.

Don't have annuals or hanging baskets. Too much work.

My involvement is just, general upkeep, replacing stuff that either dies or "we're sick of" and occasionally "moving stuff about."

This "minimal involvement," takes hours.

Don't read gardening books.
Haven't the interest or time, too many other hobbies.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
4 to 5 best for success.
Country
United States