Grass seed?

Reaction score
Country
Canada
What is the best brand of grass seed in your opinion? Me and my husband are thinking of planting some new seed in the spring as our grass looked pretty rough before the snow rolled around we are are just looking for opinions on cheap good quality grass seed!

Reaction score
Country
United States
I don't have any advice but am wondering this myself so I will be interested to see the responses. We just spread grass seed some recently in some patches and I guess it might just be the cold but it doesn't look like it's going to grow. We ended up purchasing the cheapest bag of grass seed we could find at our local Home Depot and we are also thinking that come Spring, we should investigate a bit more in terms of brand and quality.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Zone 5b
Country
United States
I have been planting Scott's grass seed for the past three years and it always die off before summer ended. It is expensive and I was very disappointed with it after three years of trying. So I checked out Lowe's garden center passed by the Scott's brand and scoured my options. I opted for Pennington but I bought just a 10 lb. bag to do some patching. I was pleasantly surprised because it didn't die off. So come Spring that's what I'll be buying.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5A
Country
United States