whats going on with my onions?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
4a
Country
Canada
Hey all, I have a problem with my onions. This is my first time growing onions and I had to do so in a pot, because i live in town and my yard isnt large enough for any kind of garden. Anyway, they've been dying. I dont know whats causing it but I dont want to lose all of my onions if at all possible. Theyve been dying one at a time.
Pictures are of the most recent one, any help is much appreciated.

Attachments

• tmp_367-20170902_132940-788020693.jpg
    tmp_367-20170902_132940-788020693.jpg
    214.1 KB · Views: 233
  • tmp_367-20170902_132909448238981.jpg
    tmp_367-20170902_132909448238981.jpg
    200.2 KB · Views: 262
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United States
Looks to me as if they are maturing, and ready to be pulled. When the tops start to turn brown and flop over, it's a sign that the bulb is ready to be harvested.
When did you plant these onions? I'm not familiar with the temps in zone 4a, but we always harvest onions twice a year--once just before the first hard frost, and again in June.
After you harvest your onions, let them dry for two-three weeks out of direct sunlight and in a place with good air circulation. We hang ours in the barn, but have also dried them on a screen.
For being grown in a pot, those onions look pretty darned nice!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
4a
Country
Canada
Ill start harvesting them as they start to go brown. How do you get seeds from them? I was hoping to somehow collect seeds from the biggest one. I know they dont go to seed until the second year, but how do you keep it alive that long?

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United States
In you zone I think that sets or starts would be the better alternative to seeds.
Keeping onions alive to the second year when they may set seeds is just a matter of leaving them in the ground. Here in Texas some people plant onion seeds, but I've never done it, so I can't advise.

Reaction score