Sweet Corn - Horrible Aphid Problem - Can I get your advice?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey there guys. I've been gardening for a few years now with decent success haha. Our real bread winner has been Asparagus which seems to always do fantastic each year with minimal problems!

We decided to try Sweet Corn this year for the first time. It was going awesome, until the tasseling and silking started. Unfortunately, my corn started to tassel well before silks developed, so we didn't get any pollination and thus, no sweet corn... I definitely fertilized properly, so I think the heat wave and drought we experienced here is what caused this. I was watering my 8x4 ft bed with 2 gallons of water every other day - I did some rough calcs after the fact and found I probably should have been doing 4 gallons everyday, which would be 4x the amount of water than I was giving them... maybe that was my problem?

Regardless, I will try again next year! I've kept the corn stalks growing just for fun and so my wife can use them for fall decorating haha. But I've come across a major problem: Corn Leaf Aphids!

I wish I kept a better journal but I remember finding them on a single stalk around end of June. I sprayed them down with neem oil and moved on.

By end of July they had infested every single corn stalk. They have since covered every leaf underside, tassel, and silk. From a few feet away it looks like somebody has spray painted my stalks black...

I was getting desperate so resorted to my last resort, which is pesticides. I used some heavy stuff that has never let me down before: a mix of Permethrin and Bifenthrin, which should kill insects for up to 3 months. I sprayed the stalks down completely: top, bottom, from the bottom up to hit the undersides of leaves... No result. I've since sprayed the stalks down 6+ times over the last 4 weeks and they dont seem to die. Or maybe theyre dying, and more are just hatching at a faster rate...