Rat on my compost pile!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys! This is my first attempt at composting. Everything has been going well until today. I pulled or the door mats on top of the pile to turn and and saw a rat or mouse! Gave me the fright of my life. Should I be worried? How do I combat this? I haven’t thrown any meat or fish in there. The night before I. Threw in some a few cooked potatoes that had a bit of Parmesan but it was literally only a handful. Thanks in advance

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
They are eating insects which is a good sign for the pile as it means positive things for the soil biology at work in the pile. Uncovering a pile allows predators like birds to get after rodents. Especially owls at night.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Well, I must partially disagree with @DirtMechanic. The small amount being turned over by a rat is a good thing, however, the insects drawn to cooked foods are not. Plus, the rats are more than likely coming to the potatoes as there are insects everywhere, not just in the compost pile. The insects coming to cooked foods include roaches and one tries to avoid and not encourage them. One should not add cooked foods to a compost pile although they will decompose, and, one should never add dairy products to a compost pile. One should try to eliminate rats from the garden area, not draw them in by adding cooked foods and the odors which these cooked foods will emit as they decompose. Raw kitchen scraps are what you want to add to the pile such as lettuce, root crop tops, any fresh vegetable that is not edible any longer, peelings, etc.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom