Need help rehabilitating old greenhouse

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
10a
Country
United States
We recently moved into a house that has a detached wood&glass greenhouse in the back yard. Cue dreams of year-round veggie gardening and flower pampering.

We just spent a pretty penny restoring water and electricity to the GH (all pipes had been rusted through), and now we'd like to get the structure itself into better shape. Total novices in this area, so any advice would be greatly appreciated. Obvious first step is replacing the hinges, as they're completely rusted.

The main issue is how to seal the wood. We are located near San Francisco, and have fog rolling through most mornings. All the moisture has caused the door to expand, making it difficult to open or shut completely. I guess planing it is our only option. But how to prevent this from happening again? Seal the wood? Paint it? What are the best products to use? How often to apply/re-apply them?

jC145AD.jpg
mEmpUyF.jpg

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United States
Well, I'm green with envy! That is a beautiful greenhouse--functional yet a lovely addition to your garden/yard.
There is a product called Thompson's Waterseal that will work well on the wood of the greenhouse. We use it on our deck and garden table, both exposed to our extreme humidity here in central Texas.
It does have to be re-applied after a few years. We have applied it twice in 10 years--two applications the first time because nothing had been done to the existing deck, and then another after about six years. With your climate conditions, you'll just have to use your best judgement as to when another application is needed.
Get galvanized hinges if you can--they last a lot longer and don't rust. Not terribly pretty, but they are functional!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom