My formerly fabulous tomato plants have all died

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi!
This is my first post. I'm new to gardening and was very excited about growing my own stuff until disaster struck.
I live in a very rural area and there is no other home in sight. Only wooded areas and some cleared vacant lots.

In March, my tomato plants began bearing tomatoes. They were FAR better tasting than store bought tomatoes.
Through Mid April they flourished and I got great tomatoes about every other day.

Then, about the 2nd week of April I noticed some leaves on some stems looked wilted. I figured it was the dryness so I watered them.
But over the next two weeks, they got worse and more stems wilted and some were turning brown and drooping.

During the last two weeks of April the got worse and eventually most of the vines were looking brown splotchy, dead or drooping with yellowing leaves.

By mid May I realized I was going to lose all my tomato plants. I have no idea what happened.
They went from vibrant, deep green and bearing fruit to decimated and dead or dying.

All that's left to do now is to pull up all the vines up and put them in the garbage.

So to the best of my knowledge, here's the factors that could have been a contributor to their demise.....

1). In early April I started watering them because it was very dry here. We have well water so it has been through a water softener as far as I know.
It's possible it's direct well water but I have to check to see how the previous owner did the water back to the garden. I've owned the property only about 9 months.

2). I probably used the wrong fertilizer on them. This is my very first time dealing with gardening and I thought that fertilizer was fertilizer and some was in the storage shed so I used it.