Lillies

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All. I am an amateur gardener seeking advice about lillies.

My lillies blossomed for a couple of weeks and now all the petals have fallen off. The lillies were in an enclosure to protect them from any wind/breeze, so it is not the wind that has blown the petals off. I understand that the petals will not grow again this year, which is a shame.

My query is, next year how can I increase the length of time the petals stay on the flower?

Eddie

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
4 to 5 best for success.
Country
United States
you can't, they have a built in genetic timer specific to the plant. just research and plant other lilies in a mixture, ones that bloom at different intervals so you will have a "Lilly type" always in that area.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello @EddieH
1565464057962.png
-to the forum. Afraid I'm not clever with lilies, and stopped growing them when they got covered in those red lily beetles. We spotted a good tip on Gardeners World though last evening about making a tea out of the leaves of the curry plant to spray on the lily leaves. Evidently those beetles don't like curry! Maybe I will try again :unsure:

What sort of lilies are you growing? We do have some day lilies here which are tough and spread like billyo, and they die off eah day - lose all the petals as the name suggests, then they have a whole new batch of flowers eah day for ages...they are called Hemerocallis.

zigs

Cactus Grower, Kent.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
Welcome to the forum :)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Zone 6
Country
United States
@EddieH, There really is no way to control the timing of the petals on the lily flowers. I have planted numerous lilies for customers.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom