Inoculant For Beans & Peas

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
Haven't planted green beans or peas before.
Does anyone know anything about the product Inoculant for peas & beans. I'm new to this product, but Haven't purchased it yet. I've viewed some you soak seeds in before planting, also viewed some you add directly to soil before planting. Which is better? Also after using this product shouldn't need any further nutrients if I understood correctly.
Dan

Reaction score
Country
United States
I’ve been growing green beans for several years, and my dog gets a bunch of them because she loves them. I grow everything in containers and I just plant the green bean seeds right into the soil without soaking them. I typically grow bush beans, but I’ve done pole beans in the past.

Meadowlark

No N-P-K Required
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
old zone 8b/new zone 9a
Country
United States
... Also after using this product shouldn't need any further nutrients if I understood correctly.
Dan
I haven't used the product you mentioned so can't answer the first two questions.

However, regarding need for further nutrients...that depends on your soil composition currently. If your soil is deficient in potassium, phosphorus, and/or several other micro-nutrients, the inoculant won't help with that. If your soil is lacking organic matter, again the inoculant won't help that.

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Does anyone know anything about the product Inoculant for peas & beans.
It probably contains fungicide and insecticide. You don't need it. Try a yeast or lacto-bacillus inoculant instead. The formulae are simple and are on YouTube.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
I’ve been growing green beans for several years, and my dog gets a bunch of them because she loves them. I grow everything in containers and I just plant the green bean seeds right into the soil without soaking them. I typically grow bush beans, but I’ve done pole beans in the past.