Hello I am new to gardening and have a huge problem with my yard. Need help please.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi
My name is Julia and I recently started homeschooling my son. We live in northern CA, right on the coast. We have fog in the morning and extreme temperature changes during the day.
We also bought a home with a rather large back and front yard about a year ago. Unfortunately, both of the yards have been neglected and need serious attention. I have never been a gardener, nor do I have a green thumb (I grew up in a large city). However, due to the fact, that I am home with my son, I would like to start gardening and planting. The problem is the state of our yard right now. It is so overgrown with weeds that I don't even know where to start. I have once tried to pull all the weeds, which was very labor intensive. Only to realize that they grew back very quickly. I could spend every day pulling weeds, just to maintain it.

Here is what I would like to do, or the advice I am looking for:
How can I efficiently kill the weeds, or get rid of them, so that they don't come back right away?
I would like to plant some grass, in the middle of the yard, with a walkway around it. Maybe a couple of fruit trees.
We already have two plumb trees and on large fig tree. I would like to plant an avocado tree.
I also would like to get the planters fixed up again. Not sure, if that means I have to take the soil out and replace it with different soil, so that weeds don't come back. Need advice on that too. However, I would like to plant vegetables and I also need to get water supply to it. I would need advice on when the best time is to plant vegetables.
Since we also would like to plant some grass, I would like some advice on how to do that and what type of grass seed I should use for our climate. Since we don't have very much water during the summer, I need grass that can be heat resistant.