Heater recommendations for greenhouse during winter months?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Greetings All! I am new to greenhouses and trying to get some information to help dad.

We put together a 10'W x 20'L greenhouse so dad can keep his plants alive during the winter months. This upcoming winter will be our second winter season and are looking for a more efficient & effective way to heat the greenhouse.

Last winter, we used a small Mr. Buddy heater. It performed ok, but we had to change out the propane tanks several times a week. It didn't seem to move the heat throughout the greenhouse.

What recommendations do would you suggest to heat this size greenhouse? Would it be better to stick with Propane or switch to Electric?

We live in Ohio and dad would like to keep the temperature above freezing.

Thanks!

BCG

Green5.jpg
Green6.jpg

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
A bit unconventional, I have a very large terracotta flowerpot which I used to stand a candle under after hearing an old lady on the radio saying that was how they stopped the windows freezing in winter. That worked out expensive and so I got a jar with a metal lid and drove a large nail through it (the lid). Then I wrapped a piece cut from a tin can around the nail a couple of times, took it off and forced it through the hole, made a wick out of cotton wool which I pushed through the tube and half filled the jar with paraffin (kerosene?).
It worked very well, the flower pot gets warm to the hand all over. The water vapour produced was a bit much so I made a chimney from a piece of 3/4 inch copper pipe, which fitted the hole in the flower pot beautifully , and exits through a small hole in the roof. The first couple of feet of the copper get warm too, which helps, but stand the flame on one side as water will condense in the top and run back down, putting it out. A small jam jar of paraffin will last several days, so very economical.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States