Paraffin Heater and Lemon Tree

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi. Hope you are all well. I have a small lemon tree which I bought this year. It has been doing fine and has 3 small lemons on it. It is now in my small green house for the winter. I live in the West of Scotland and we are having some cold frosty nights. Tonight it’s 1degree. Today I went in and wrapped the pot in bubble wrap and then placed in a box filled with the polystyrene nugget things and then tied the box closed. Several leaves fell off but there are some new leaf buds and flower buds appearing, I intend to “nip” these. I put in a paraffin heater but I am not sure if the fumes will be harmful. Am I doing it all wrong? I am new to all things greenhouse

Reaction score
Country
United States
Greetings, welcome to the Forums.

Heating your greenhouse in Winter may likely be necessary, though Lemon (Citrus x limon) can survive 1º C (~33º F) without damage. Do you have some rough idea how cold it will likely get this Winter, both outside and inside your greenhouse? In any case, it is still good to be prepared if it gets colder than expected.

Paraffin is certainly a source of heating fuel and will work if nothing else is available. However, like all combustive fuel you will need to ventilate for safety of human health (carbon monoxide, etc.), as well as plant health (ethylene, etc.). Of course, ventilating and heating the air are at cross-purposes here. Could electricity be run out to your greenhouse via an extension cord?