Garden Bed in Shade

Reaction score
Country
United States
This is my first post on this site so forgive me! I am an architect and new home owner here in New Jersey and while I love design, I am struggling with deciding on the types of plants and trees to plant after edging out (coreten) my front lawn and removing foundation hedges. I want a variety of textures, layers and colors occurring seasonally but being that most of the bed is in full shade it makes it difficult. I would certainly like to sneak a dwarf Japanese maple in there along with hydrangeas but I am struggling with the elements in between. I’d prefer not to use evergreens but I would be open to it. Any thoughts and suggestions would be greatly appreciated and would gladly trade services!

Thank you,
Brendan

Attachments

• F44AA06A-DD6A-42D3-A8F9-C56BAC732F41.jpeg
    F44AA06A-DD6A-42D3-A8F9-C56BAC732F41.jpeg
    290.2 KB · Views: 14
  • 69C7DF45-B543-4FCB-93E1-B3DB35FAFF6C.jpeg
    69C7DF45-B543-4FCB-93E1-B3DB35FAFF6C.jpeg
    293.7 KB · Views: 15
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
I was sorting a similar problem today. I was standing in a greenhouse with a translucent roof and there were scads of plants suitable for shade. But the inventory was aimed at zone 8. That zoning issue will be a detail you would want to address as well as you sort through choices. I imagine the evergreen idea will be a need too.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Yes it’s not easy. I went by a nursery yesterday but their inventory is low as they are awaiting all the spring pieces. They’re worried about a last frost destroying their plants as has happened in the past. I am in North Jersey which places me in Zone 7a.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
4 to 5 best for success.
Country
United States