All my Potatoes are Chitting!! What to do ?

Reaction score
Country
United States
I am new to growing my own food and the process...about 1-2 years now, so I need some advice on potatoes. We harvested these white potatoes in the summer and put them away in the cool, dark garage attic in a milk crate and 95% of them are now chitting, some with 3 inch sprouts on them. They look like they are ready to get planted!!! I went to pull some this morning for mashed potatoes for Christmas dinner and shocked to see this.

Its too cold outside to plant them now, but they look like they are ready to do their thing. I dont think they will last until spring to plant them in the ground and I dont have enough room to put them in pots inside the house under grow lights. So what do I do with these???

Meadowlark

No N-P-K Required
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
old zone 8b/new zone 9a
Country
United States
That's normal for potatoes. The best thing to do IMO would have been to plant some(all) of those back in September. You would be having another crop about now.

I've harvested about 30 pounds of new potatoes thus far that were planted in September from the spring crop and still have about 2/3 of the row yet to harvest. I covered them twice to protect from frosts. I expect to get about 100 pounds new total from those leftovers. This is the way to have a continuous year around supply of home-grown new potatoes.

Fall 2023.JPG

At this point, you can 1) try to eat them (remove any green stuff first), 2) plant them where you can protect them (didn't you build a DIY greenhouse?) and grow another crop, or 3) throw them out on the compost pile.

Reaction score
Country
United States
At this point, you can 1) try to eat them (remove any green stuff first), 2) plant them where you can protect them (didn't you build a DIY greenhouse?) and grow another crop, or 3) throw them out on the compost pile.