Growing ginger in zone 7

Reaction score
Country
United States
This is my first year growing ginger - I planted sprouted rhizomes in June and the plant has a lot of shoots.

I am reading that ginger needs a good 7-10 months, though ... so, should I bring her inside before frost and continue her development inside? I planted in a container so this would be feasible. Or, is the time frame from the moment the rhizome is started? I am just confused on timing. The shoots are all very green / not dying back yet.

Any advice would be very much appreciated.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
Keep a watch on night temps and soil temps. It will slow before failure and that is when people begin trying to feed or nurse it when really it cannot use any of that because the the temps have stopped the processes of growth.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
I would think so. Your county has grow zones of 6b, 7a and 7b. Without looking the plant up I can point to Florida where it is in Zone 10. I am guessing but 60f nights might be all a tropical will bear. Well bear in a robust fashion anyway. We have plants like bromiliad that we leave out until the first freeze and even though they make it through winter in the garage they get a little rough looking.

Are growing the tricolor ginger?
stromanthe_8-26-09_025__92502.jpg

Last edited:
Reaction score
Country
United States
I’m growing standard old ginger …. It’s a lovely and warm week but once the temps drop some I’ll be bringing her inside. I am planning to try to overwinter my peppers too so I’ll just set up some lights.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    312 KB · Views: 5
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States