What potatoes for frying chips - but using a special oil?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey guys - I'm looking to make potato chips on my own. Never done it before. I was wondering what kind of potato would be best?

Here's the thing - I'm really into this seed oil thing and so I want to fry the potatos in *Beef Tallow* not vegetable oil.

I could talk for hours about why, if you're interested it's basically just cause the traditional beef tallow is lots healthier (contrary to popular belief) and apparently tastes a lot better too. Here's a guide all about that, I don't want to waste your time writing about that here...

Anyway, I'm new to making potato chips at all and now I've added this new oil thing... With both of those together, what do you think would be the best potato for me to grow to fry them up for potato chips, using beef tallow? Maybe it doesn't even matter what oil I use, but anyway I'd like to know the very best potato for frying. I want to make REALLY deluxe potato chips, a cut above!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
Welcome to the forums!

I make Russet kettle chips using my Cuisinart Processer and a slicing blade. They are thicker, and take longer to cook than you might think. I soak away some starch first. The less starch the more crispy the potato. Some use the Yellow potato for this and flavor reasons.

I can make sweet potato chips the same way, but bake them low and slow usually.

Last edited:
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
Oh- and animal fat tastes like animal, so beef like beef. Not the best look on a stand alone veggie.

Referred as neutral oils, the non flavor
of vegetable or canola oil helps the potato taste come out.

Roasted is the reason? Remember it is too much spice if it is the main flavor, and that is what you will be doing with beef tallow. Your oil flavor must be in the background, as well as your salt and spices, or you are simply doing it wrong.