Topsy Turvy Tomato planter?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
I am new to using one of these things, and I was wondering if anyone else has used one of these things and was successful, or unsuccessful? I honestly can't see it working. See how the poor upside-down plant is trying to turn back upwards? The plants are obviously smarter than the person who invented this thing. Plants know to grow UP, not downwards. But I was wondering if anybody else tried one of these odd contraptions?

Attachments

• IMG_20190514_162032.jpg
    IMG_20190514_162032.jpg
    341.1 KB · Views: 171
  • IMG_20190514_190616.jpg
    IMG_20190514_190616.jpg
    205.2 KB · Views: 164
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
How in the world could you grow a big zucchini plant in there? A cucumber maybe, if it turn upwards and grew up a post or a nearby something. Growing plants upside-down is strange beyond all reason.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United States
No personal experience, but friends of ours had two on their back porch. They ended up with two dead tomato plants and a big mess on the porch. It seems those bags aren't as sturdy as they should be.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
Goodness, gracious. The tomato plant I put in there is still quite small...think I'll see if I can't get it out of there! I'd like to whop the Topsy Turvy planter inventor. They obviously know nothing about plants.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
We had a trellis on our deck and hung 4 of these. They require a lot of fertilizer and almost constant watering but clues and zucs did well. Containers did not make it to year 2.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States