Scarifying, Dethatching, Mechanical Rake and Verticutting

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi
Im new to lawn care and have turfed my garden two years ago.
After heavy rainfall i have birds coming to the garden to pick on the grass and i assume feed on worms. They pick and leave divets in the grass.
I went to use a hand rake to collect what the birds have left. I was amazed to see how much dead grass which i assume must be the thatch i have been reading about.

I also have a lot of meadow grass or POA which is very unsightly considering i only turfed two years ago.

I have read up and it seems i need to treat the moss, weeds with some treatment. Allow it to do it work for a week then scarify in two directions then fertilise and re seed and water.

My question is are my assumption above correct and should i buy a scarifying machine which can rake too and do i rake first then scarify.

Any recommendations on which machine to purchase and what treatments to purchase. I have seen ‘Mowy’ advertising heavily on treatment packs but seem very expensive.

I have considered purchasing a cobra cylinder mower which has all the cartridge attachment but is very expensive and do you meed a really flat lawn to use such a machine. Mine is fairly flat and level

Look forward to any advise and recommendations.

Thank you in advance.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi
After heavy rainfall i have birds coming to the garden to pick on the grass and i assume feed on worms. They pick and leave divets in the grass.
I went to use a hand rake to collect what the birds have left. I was amazed to see how much dead grass which i assume must be the thatch i have been reading about.

I also have a lot of meadow grass or POA which is very unsightly considering i only turfed two years ago.

I have read up and it seems i need to treat the moss, weeds with some treatment. Allow it to do it work for a week then scarify in two directions then fertilise and re seed and water.