Clay soil drainage

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm in the process of levelling my lawn which has sometimes suffered with drainage as it's heavy clay.

I wondered if anyone had any ideas to I.prove this? We have a brook at the bottom of the garden so I was thinking of directing it to that corner.. or maybe soak aways?

I'm a novice and pretty clumsy with my hands so this has been a fun experience 😂

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
1000021015.jpg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
Hi Bobert89!
I'm no landscaping expert, but I have clay soil. (Plus, we have many maple trees, so leveling the ground lasts one year at most.) Water would remain for days after a normal rain and snow melt would remain until June. One area stayed under water nearly all year.

Here are some things that worked for me:
Trench-And-Pipe method
Basically a trench with drainage material in it and piping leading to an area with drainage material.

Big-Pit Method.
Basically a pit with drainage material. Water goes to the pit and can take its time seeping into the soil

--------------------------------------------------------------

Details of how I did these are below:

Trench-
A) Dug trench about 8" wide x 18" deep from center of permanently wet area to a location suitable for water (back of yard). The trench pitches that way at about 1/16" per foot.

B) Lined the bottom & sides of the trench with polyester fabric. Cost came to 1 U.S. cent foot square at fabric store's close out pile. It lasts longer than landscape fabric.

C) Put slag sand in the bottom of the trench to about 3" deep.
I picked slag because is it a scrap product. No earth mining or stripping is used to get it.

D) Laid perforated Schedule 30 PVC pipes in the bottom of the trench. Didn't glue them together, just shoved a pipe into the belled end. I put the perforations at the 5 and 7 o'clock positions. (Facing down at an angle)