Clay Soil Drainage Issue With Newly Planted Canary Island Pine

Reaction score
Country
United States
We planted a Canary Island Pine 4 weeks ago and are having a water drainage issue (photos of tree at end of post). I am new to gardening and here are the details.

Tree: Canary Island Pine. Height about 15’ when planted. Planted on May 25th 2016 (4 weeks ago).

Issue or Concern: Water is not draining. Background: The hole for the tree was 5-6’ wide by 3’ deep and contained mostly clay. The clay and excess tree box soil was mixed and then filled in the hole around the tree ball.

Issue Suspicion: The clay is absorbing or holding the water. And/or the hole’s clay walls are “pooling” the water.

Observation #1: As most agree, the tree looks healthy. Water drainage still a concern however.

Observation #2: To check drainage or hole water level, I use a deep drip tree stake (like a pvc pipe with holes) and insert a “dip” stick. The stick shows a water level but it drains very slowly, about 2-3” a day. It’s been 7 days since we’ve watered last and there’s still 8 inches of standing water measuring.

Observation #2: The top of the soil just turned clay cracked dry, but an inch or two underneath it is still somewhat moist (dark in color moist). Informational Note: Today it is 77 degrees today and it will be a 100 in four days with continual hot weather.

Suggested Solutions: The following solutions have been made.

Solution #1: Wait until the water goes all the way down, wait a few days, and then water again. Don't do anything with the soil. Note: With the understanding that newly planted trees need to be more often, doing this solution may mean watering it every 12 days.

Solution #2: To improve drainage, replace soil without hurting the roots with Kellogg’s Amend and Gypsum. There was a 1 to at most 2 foot distance between the tree ball and hole wall. Not sure how much the tree roots have grown into that space in 4 weeks.