What plants should I put in my front yard? (picture)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
The family is redoing our entire house and I am doing the front yard. I don't know what to put because I am new to landscaping. These plants have been here for years and I'm happy I get to get rid of them. Near the entrance way, we just have a palm tree along with ugly bush plants. By the window, we also have palm trees and we have strawberry plants than another palm.
We will definitely be getting rid of the strawberries and the bush things. We will most likely be getting rid of the tree in the front of the window.

Any ideas what to plant? Specifically what kind of tree I should place the dead one with because I'll just probably just plant stuff that matches it. We also have a big tree in front of everything, couldn't get a picture. But it has a really thick trunk, thick even foliage, and the leaves are kinda light green, We'll probably get that trimmed.
IMG_20170328_172502.jpg

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
India
Hey Pablo, if you want a big tree, how about mango? I know you want one and I also know that you have right weather conditions......
You could plant bulbs like tuberose, zephyranthus(rain lily), amaryllis, crinum, heliconia, canna etc. For shady spots, you can plant football lily.
If you want to plant annuals, you can plant cosmos, balsam, marigolds, vinca etc.
Coleus is a good plant for semi shade.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
How about some sort of ornamental grasses to replace the bush things? The soft lines and shapes would complement your house I think. Not sure what grows well in your region but you will have lots of choices, from low-growing colorful grass to giant pampas.

For a tree... Avocado! :) Pretty trees and yummy fruit. I lived in California years ago and had an avocado tree in my front yard.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States