Westland Multi-purpose Compost With John Innes - No good?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Folks!

Complete garden novice here - In my previous post, I had my strawberry seedlings mixed up with onions!

Anyway, I wanted to ask about compost, specifically the titled compost, and whether anyone had any problems with it?

I started off a few seeds in a propogator with compost I found left over in the house we moved into - I think it was Verve multi purpose.

Anyway, the seeds started off well and grow to the size (2/3 leaves) were I thought I should repot them.

I thinned out the propogator and planted 18 (6 X tomatoes, 6 x lettuce & 6 x beetroot) into 8cm fibre pots and thought I'd done a decent job repotting them.

Anyway, long story short - they pretty much all died within 2/3 days of repotting (one sole lettuce survivor).

The seedlings I left behind in the propogator were fine and continued to grow.

Is this Westland stuff no good? I'm kind of gutted as I actually paid more for it thinking I was buying premium stuff.

I've attached a picture here showing a couple of drying out, finished pots. The top one has the Westland compost, which is a lot greyer and full of much bigger pieces. The other stuff is redder, finer and seems to hold moisture better.

Given the deaths, I tried starting a second propogator, using this Westland stuff as a test. The lettuce, beetroot and tomatoes have all started in it this time but I do have a lot of white fluff around the top of the soil.

I've also noticed this Westland stuff seems to form a harder crust at the top and when I water it, it sits pooled on the top for a bit before going in.

So the question is - Is It bad stuff or have I just been unlucky or doing something fundamentally wrong when repotting?

Thanks for any help / advice you may be able to give...

IMG_20240329_112343_copy_1500x2000.jpg

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom