Medicinal plants

Reaction score
I am thinking of growing some medicinal plants. I have never tried them before. What kinds grow in containers and which are the most helpful?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
There are so many medicinal plants, even plants people don't even think of as such like garlic. Pretty much all of the herbs can be grown in containers as well as aloe vera and a lot of food plants. Right now I have ginger in a container. As it spreads I plan to just thin it out.

Reaction score
Okay come to think of it I have ginger, aloes, turmeric, at this moment... I have a few other herbs like basil, thyme and rosemary...may be I will do a bit of looking up for some more plants in this category.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
Maddie, is turmeric hard to grow? What part of the plant is used to make the powder that is used in Indian cooking?

I don't cook with Rosemary but l love the smell of the plant. I need to get one...

Reaction score
The Aloe Vera is at the top of the charts when it comes to medicinal plants. It has a ton of medicinal uses and can be used externally and internally. I have two at home and use them quite often. It's fantastic for bruises. I used recently, because my son had a bruise on his leg, right below the knee. I rubbed Aloe Vera gel on it, directly from the plant, and no kidding, the next day the swelling was gone and the bruise was healed. In ONE DAY.

Jed

Reaction score
The Aloe Vera is at the top of the charts when it comes to medicinal plants. It has a ton of medicinal uses and can be used externally and internally. I have two at home and use them quite often. It's fantastic for bruises. I used recently, because my son had a bruise on his leg, right below the knee. I rubbed Aloe Vera gel on it, directly from the plant, and no kidding, the next day the swelling was gone and the bruise was healed. In ONE DAY.