Landscape Fabric Help...remove?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
So in our new yard, the flower bed (if you can call it that) around the grass in the backyard has landscape fabric under really old bark dust. It's pretty weed ridden. I have ideas of what I want to put where...but I am overwhelmed by the fabric. I've never worked with it before. For instance, I want to grow strawberries...but they spread on their own so the fabric would be in their way right?

Should I just go pull it up? My partner thinks that would be way to much work...he said we should be able to work around it. However, I would rather work really hard in a weekend for an easier time in the future. Both of us have no idea though...help! :)

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
13b
Country
India
As per my knowledge fabric is mainly spread to control weeds.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
So in our new yard, the flower bed (if you can call it that) around the grass in the backyard has landscape fabric under really old bark dust. It's pretty weed ridden. I have ideas of what I want to put where...but I am overwhelmed by the fabric. I've never worked with it before. For instance, I want to grow strawberries...but they spread on their own so the fabric would be in their way right?

Should I just go pull it up? My partner thinks that would be way to much work...he said we should be able to work around it. However, I would rather work really hard in a weekend for an easier time in the future. Both of us have no idea though...help! :)
As you have already observed the weed fabric is not stopping the weeds. What the previous folks did was to lay down the fabric and cover it up with mulch. If it were me I would remove it. It isn't that difficult, just find the corner edge of the fabric and start pulling

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United States