HELP..what is wrong with my pole beans?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi all. I’m new to the forum. I’ve been gardening for many, many years. I live in NE Pennsylvania.

I noticed these strange looking pole bean leaves a few days ago. They seem to be spreading to other poles. The first appear on the purple pole beans and the others are on green pole beans. The green pole beans are from my GF’s small village in Italy. He immigrated in 1906. Needless to say, the seeds are irreplaceable.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. What is the problem? And, what is the treatment?

TIA

Attachments

• IMG_2412.jpeg
    IMG_2412.jpeg
    245.2 KB · Views: 18
  • IMG_2411.jpeg
    IMG_2411.jpeg
    245 KB · Views: 19
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hi all. I’m new to the forum. I’ve been gardening for many, many years. I live in NE Pennsylvania.

I noticed these strange looking pole bean leaves a few days ago. They seem to be spreading to other poles. The first appear on the purple pole beans and the others are on green pole beans. The green pole beans are from my GF’s small village in Italy. He immigrated in 1906. Needless to say, the seeds are irreplaceable.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. What is the problem? And, what is the treatment?

TIA
I believe your beans have common mosaic virus. It is usually caused by aphids. I know of no cure and the immediate removal of all affected plants is mandatory or the disease will spread to other legumes. Do not use seeds from affected plants.

Reaction score
Country
United States
If it is indeed Aphids try giving them a good blast of water.

If this don't help try mix of Dawn Dish Soap and Peppermint Oil.

Most don't call for Peppermint Oil but trust me Bugs hate it.

If they are still a problem spray with Neem. This is your last resort.

big rockpile

Reaction score
Country
United States
Thanks all for your replies. I looked into the mosaic virus and it appears I will need to pull all of my poles.