Help! My yard guy mowed down my dwarf asters!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
Hi everyone - I'm new to gardening and have my first heartbreak. I hire a man to cut my grass and only cut the grass. I do all my planting, weeding, mulching etc...the fun stuff!

Anyway, yesterday I came home and he had mowed down all 8 of my dwarf asters that border my front walkway. Just rode the mower right over the mulch beds. I was completely heartbroken. I literally cried in my front yard. I just planted them in early May and they were just starting to fill out and look like something, although no flowers yet.

Will they grow back or am I doomed?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I think if the roots are still healthy, then you will be ok, and they will grow back. Asters around my part of the world seem very hardy. A little tender loving care will help them grow and I am sorry that your lawn guy did that. Have you talked to him and let him know that was a terrible thing to do?

I certainly hope that your asters will come back!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
I think if the roots are still healthy, then you will be ok, and they will grow back. Asters around my part of the world seem very hardy. A little tender loving care will help them grow and I am sorry that your lawn guy did that. Have you talked to him and let him know that was a terrible thing to do?

I certainly hope that your asters will come back!

Hi - I did speak with him. He didn't think it was a big deal, in fact, he seemed pretty irritated that I even mentioned it. I think it's time to go back to cutting my own grass.:(

I've been watering them and will start using Miracle grow to try to get them back.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
4 to 5 best for success.
Country
United States