Has anyone tried vertical gardening?

Reaction score
I have a paved back area that is nice and sunny and I would like to make it into a more inviting space by covering the walls with plants. But I have never tried vertical gardening before.

Has anyone done this, and do you know which are the best plats and how to stratify them. Do you use a trickle water system to keep them moist. I'm hoping I can mix some fruit shrubs and fruiting plants with ferns and flowers to make the wall productive whilst giving colour and shade.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
Poland
I haven't tried it yet but I'm thinking about it so I could use some tips too. Vertical gardens look very interesting, almost surreal:

vertical_garden_2.jpg

vertical%20gardening_framed.jpg

Reaction score
That looks like a very successful vertical garden. Myself, I am just starting one. There is a little space at the side of my apartment in the drying area where the sun comes in for a few hours a day. So far I have only got a few bottles of water growing water morning glory. I am still figuring out the simplest way to add nutrients to the water. And keep the mosquitoes from breeding there.

Reaction score
That looks like a very successful vertical garden. Myself, I am just starting one. There is a little space at the side of my apartment in the drying area where the sun comes in for a few hours a day. So far I have only got a few bottles of water growing water morning glory. I am still figuring out the simplest way to add nutrients to the water. And keep the mosquitoes from breeding there.
You could grow plants in bottles with a little soil but with drain holes for the excess water to drain off into other bottles. I am all set to try this..
windowfarm_enl-2a86023b839fde19ab5b5cdd1b444eed2eceb533-s51.jpg

You could also have vertical gardens in normal containers. Just a vertical grill/trellis with pot holders to keep your in plants in a vertical position.
Vertical-Garden.jpg