Can I plant different varieties of the same plant close to each other?

Reaction score
Country
Sweden
... and will the seeds produced still be of the parent plant (assuming cross polination occurs).

So for example, if I have several varities of tomato in my garden, and I want to save some of the seeds for next year, will the plants produced by those seeds be true to the plant they came from, or will they be all mixed up due to cross polination?

Sorry if this is a dumb question. I'm new to this stuff and high school biology was a long time ago.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
If they cross pollinate, the seeds will produce a hybrid plant. They have pollination bags which prevent insect pollination for tomatoes but I've never used them or even know if they are fool proof.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United Kingdom
To prevent cross pollination the plants have to be isolated.

A few years ago myself and a number of members on another forum trialled a rare heritage tomato from seed. Isolation was the only way to be sure that future plants would be identical to the parent plant when grown from seed. It was successful and @zigs here is still growing them. :)

zigs

Cactus Grower, Kent.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
Not a dumb question at all @Big Bunny :)

And not as straight forward to answer either. Sheal and Yum Yum are quite right, cross pollination can occur, however, tomatoes have what is known as a perfect flower. It has all the parts needed to pollenate itself so although hybridisation can occur it's not so likely with tomatoes as it would be with other plants that have open flowers.

Like Sheal said, we've been growing Manx Marvel tomatoes for over 10 years now I think and I;ve not taken any precautions to keep the plants separate. They still grow true to the original plant even after this long.