Perennial or not?

Reaction score
Country
United States
I am not totally sure if this belongs here but we’ll see. Please bear with me as this will be a bit to explain.

I planted a bunch of Mignon Single Mix (mixed color seed packet) Dahlias - under the impression that they were annuals - in my flower beds with my perennials so that I’d have some blooms this year. I bought the seeds from an online seed vendor and the description said that they were annuals as well as smaller annuals. I also planted some perennial dahlias that were already bloomed that I got online.

I am experienced with organic vegetable and fruit gardening but this is my first year planting any flowers with the exception of flowering herbs and sunflowers. I have bearded dragons and discovered that some flowers were edible for them; with their near refusal to eat their salads I got the idea that maybe some colored flower toppers may make their salads more attractive to them - they love bright colors.

When the single mixed dahlias first started blooming I was really impressed. They were a lot bigger than the pictures made them appear and also the colors were really pretty however, they ended up having a much bigger spread and being much taller than described. To my surprise they also (I believe) were cross pollinated with the perennial dahlias so after a couple months of being flowers with only one single row of petals, they started growing blooms with multiple rows which are really gorgeous. I’m not sure the picture limit on these posts but I will try to post as many pictures as possible describing the few things I am explaining.