indoor cilantro - first try

Reaction score
Country
United States
I'm trying to grow some herbs indoors. I have no experience. I am trying to grow cilantro, basil, and parsley. They are in small clay pots. I got seed starting mix, planted the seeds about 3 weeks ago, they sprouted and now have the small plants under a fluorescent light about 12-14 hours a day and near a window. I am watering them when the soil mix is dry on top (about every 4 days).

The basil looks great. The parsley is small but ok. Several of the cilantro plants are bending over although the leaves look ok to me.

Is this normal for cilantro? Should I be doing something different? Also, I have no idea how many plants I should have in a pot.

Thanks. Any input is appreciated because I really know nothing about what I'm doing....

Charles

Attachments

• cilantro1.JPG
    cilantro1.JPG
    185.3 KB · Views: 538
  • cilantro2.JPG
    cilantro2.JPG
    201 KB · Views: 357
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
You will do fine with basil and parsley but doubtful with cilantro. Cilantro is a cool weather crop and if you keep your house warm this fall it will bolt.

Reaction score
Country
United States
You will do fine with basil and parsley but doubtful with cilantro. Cilantro is a cool weather crop and if you keep your house warm this fall it will bolt.
Thanks. Hopefully, it won't be too warm in the room where the cilantro is, but I'll see. Do you have any thoughts on several of the young plants bending over while others are straight?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Thanks. Hopefully, it won't be too warm in the room where the cilantro is, but I'll see. Do you have any thoughts on several of the young plants bending over while others are straight?
It looks to me like they are not getting enough sunlight and are getting leggy while reaching for it. They become topheavy

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
13b
Country
Philippines