Anthurium - Is this normal

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi,

This is my first time posting, and could use some help. I will say right off the bat, I have other small plant that is a vine. But I am far from an experienced plant person. But I did do some research on this guy, and for some reason it looks like I'm not doing a good job.

I got an Anthurium about a month ago. It appeared to be in good condition when I got it. A few days after I brought it home, I noticed a few brown spots on the leaves. Over the past few weeks, a few of the red flowers have died and there are more brown spots. One leaf has a yellow spot. The owner of the shop said to spray it once a day, although he wasn't clear on if I should spray the leaves or the soil (I'm guessing the leaves). But in all honesty, I did not do it because I read online that it is best to just water them about once a week. And to be careful not to over-water them. So I'll check the first inch/two inches of soil to see if it's dry. And it's on schedule in that I need to water it once a week. Given what I read online I'm perhaps a little sensitive to over-watering given what I read. I would be in trouble if I had to repot it due to messing up the roots.

I keep it out of direct sunlight (it's blocked by the couch), but the room in total does get a lot of sun. The temp is usually between 67 - 75 and is not near a vent. I'm not sure what else I'm missing or perhaps what I am seeing is normal behavior for the plant.

I'd like to clarify if I'm caring for it right and if the attached photos are indicative of over-watering or under-watering. Or perhaps not enough sun?

I appreciate any advice on what I'm potentially doing wrong.

Regards,

Santiago

Attachments

• IMG_3039.JPG
    IMG_3039.JPG
    148.8 KB · Views: 16
  • IMG_3040.JPG
    IMG_3040.JPG
    91.4 KB · Views: 16
  • IMG_3041.JPG
    IMG_3041.JPG
    91.8 KB · Views: 17
  • IMG_3042.JPG
    IMG_3042.JPG
    108.6 KB · Views: 16
  • IMG_3043.JPG