You name the bug

Reaction score
It's currently on my eggplant and zucchini. Neem oil is not working, so are there any other ways to control these pests? I also unloaded about 100 lady bugs to no avail.

7464852194_66d934ba81_h.jpg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
Have you tried soap? Or garlic? Or pepper? Or even a combination of the three? Just don't use salt or vinegar because you could harm your plants.

Based on a Google search I'd say your bug is poecilocapsus lineatus.

Reaction score
Never tried any as I am a newb at this gardening stuff:). Does the soap go into the soil, or do I buy a pump sprayer and put soapy water in it??

Man that is a long named bug!! Sounds more like a dinosaur.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
You can just get a plastic bottle from the dollar store. You want a clean one that hasn't held any kind of chemicals before. Put a few drops of liquid soap like Dr. Bronner's (or dish soap in a pinch) and a pinch of cayenne pepper, then fill it with water. Shake it a bit to mix up the ingredients and then spray the bugs directly.

I've done it with garlic and black pepper for these little black bugs I assume are aphids that gather on my hibiscus when it's about to flower. Recently I got frustrated with snails and made a spray with soap and a tiny bit of salt. Not enough salt to kill, just to irritate the heck out of them (I hope).

Reaction score
Dishsoap in the ratio of 1:10 has always worked for me. Spray it with a fine misting spray bottle.. it usually get these things to fly away. Repeat the process until you get rid of them. Usually one more round of spraying a week later would help get rid of newly hatched bugs if the bug had laid eggs on your plants. Garlic has not always worked for me.. I have never tried cayenne pepper.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States