Yellow leaves

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
I have a PHD in handiology
Country
United States
Hi. So yeah I have been pretty busy recently. So I haven't been able to get online much.

Anyway. I have a 12" raised bed that has my pepper plants and one of my tomato plants in it. Most of the peppers and tomato seems to be growing well. But my one carolina reaper started turn yellow a week or so ago. Though while the leaves are a sickly yellow color they feel healthy to the touch.

I filled the bed with some top soil mixed with potting soil and composted manure.

From what I understand yellow looking old growth that arent wilting is a nitrogen deficiency. But with all that composted manure and the fact that none of the other plants seem to be suffering has me confused.

Last edited:
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
All plants are different as with the fish I breed, no one soil/water suits all.....so like water for my fish I would be inclined to adjust my soil gradually with a little fertilizer and top spray the leaves in the evening....I'm interested in this post because of the Carolina Reaper chilli...and at the moment is a challenge to get the seed to germinate (this I know is due to heat or lack of it)..please keep us updated.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
I'll keep yall updated.

Are you suggesting adding some more nitrogen to just the part of the bed that the reaper resides in?

The bed is 12'x5'x1' and there are 7 plants in there total. 1 reaper 2 habenaro and 3 jalipinoes with one cherry tomato.

It has been unseasonably cool this summer. A week or two ago we had 4 straight nights where it dipped down into the high 60s with mid 70s the rest of the week. Normally this time of year daytime temps are in the 90s and nights are in the high 80s. But Id think that if it was temp that the other peppers would be suffering too.