Winter is coming

Reaction score
This is my first year having a garden and so I wanted to ask, if anyone could tell me how to prepare for winter? Should I dig them up and bring them inside? Do I replant them and they pop up next year? Any information would be helpful! Thank you!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
This is my first year having a garden and so I wanted to ask, if anyone could tell me how to prepare for winter? Should I dig them up and bring them inside? Do I replant them and they pop up next year? Any information would be helpful! Thank you!
It all depends on where you live and what you have planted. A little info would go a long way

Reaction score
I have zineas and gardenia bushes! Just as summer is leaving they're in full bloom with many more budding! I hate to see my flowers go! I'm assuming there are no flowers that can be planted in winter? lol :p

Reaction score
I have zineas and gardenia bushes! Just as summer is leaving they're in full bloom with many more budding! I hate to see my flowers go! I'm assuming there are no flowers that can be planted in winter? lol :p

Unfortunately as Zinnias are annuals they will die off as soon as the cooler weather approaches whereas your Gardenia although cold sensitive - may well survive if you can give it some protection over the winter months.

There really is no reason to be without flowers over the winter months - however - although there is plenty of choice when it comes to both winter flowering shrubs and perennials - its very difficult to know what to suggest without first knowing what kind of climate you live in :)

Reaction score
Sorry! lol I could've mentioned that huh! I'm in Southern Ga and it gets pretty cold here. I'll probably just throw a sheet over the bushes like everyone else does. I'd love to be able to still have flowers in the winter! Especially with all my outside xmas decorations!!

Reaction score