Will this tree survive?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
Poland
I had a beautiful birch in my garden - now it's no longer beautiful because most of of the branches are withered. There is only one branch that is green and it's quite big. Is there any chance that this tree will survive? Or should I cut it? I hate cutting trees, in my opinion it's like killing animals, but if this tree is already dead then I see no other choice. How can I check it out?

Reaction score
We scratch the bark on the dead looking branches, if its dry and snaps when you bend it that branch is dead. I am not a tree expert by any means, that is just what we do. Hope someone else will reply to you who knows more.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
Poland
We scratch the bark on the dead looking branches, if its dry and snaps when you bend it that branch is dead. I am not a tree expert by any means, that is just what we do. Hope someone else will reply to you who knows more.
Thank you for the advice! I'm afraid most of the branches are dead, at least they look dead:( . I definitely must try out your method. I hope that tree trunk is still alive. I really like this tree:( .

Reaction score
Maybe if you can find out what caused the other branches to die and fix that, you could save the tree. We had those bugs that dig into the tree and lay eggs, that has killed off a couple of our trees. I lost a birch myself to that insect.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
Poland
I don't think it was because of the insects because I haven't seen any and I was looking for them quite carefully. My neighbour has a well, so maybe the soil is too dry for my tree...but other trees are fine so I'm not sure if it's the cause. I'll be really sad if this tree won't survive, I love trees.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
Poland
Oh, I'm not sure...It was there ever since I remember and I'm 27 now. I think the tree is still alive although it doesn't look so good:(

Reaction score