Which Shade Cloth to Prevent Sun Scald

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6B
Country
United States
Hello. I live in St Louis Missouri, in zone 6B. We usually have very hot, humid summers. This summer was especially so. We had weeks of high temps well into the 90's, and muggy and humid. The soil in my raised beds is also light and dries out quickly. It is made of river bottom soil (50%) and compost (50%). The beds are 12" high, 10 feet long, and 4 feet wide. Many of my bell peppers got sunscald. I am a newbie with veggies (first year), and I suspect I didn't water as much as I should have.

My question is, I want to buy shade cloth from amazon to help with the severe heat. There are different ones and they are rated by what percentage of shade they provide. For example, they are listed as 30% shade, 40% shade, 50% shade, 80% shade, etc. Can anyone give me a recommendation as to what rating is the best to use? I would probably like to keep it on for days at a time, so I don't have to constantly put it on and take it off every day. Thank you.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States